Lessons from the Iditarod

Each year, I love to follow the Alaskan sled dog race, the Iditarod.  When I lived in Anchorage, Alaska I took it for granted.  Each winter, at the end of the annual Fur Rendezvous festival, we knew that the race would start from downtown and that we’d hear daily updates on the radio and the TV’s evening news.  As a student, we didn’t take any time out of class to study the history or use the race as a tool for learning.  It was just a race that happened each year, much like the local sprint dog sled races that occurred around town.  It was more of an interest for tourists or to the Chichakos ( new to Alaska residents).

Now, as I live and teach in the lower 48 (the 48 contiguous states), I think of the Iditarod as such an amazing teaching tool.  I think my childhood school teachers really missed out on a great opportunity.  Even though the race seemed old-hat, so to speak, there were still such elements that would likely have engaged us, the students, in learning more about our own history, culture, and geography.  Not to mention connecting our classroom learning of the 3 R’s to real life.

But I can’t go back to my past and ask my teachers to teach us more about this unique event.  Instead I’ll bring it to my classroom and seek to engage my students in their learning via this special race.

For  several years now, I’ve integrated the Iditarod into our writing, math, grammar, spelling, and reading.  Each year, I added more elements.  (See my product at  https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Iditarod-Unit-Activities-and-Printables-2015-543433. )   I was especially excited about 5 years ago when I was able to incorporate technology by using the Iditarod website where my students tracked a musher, watched video, learned vocabulary, and viewed images.

s-Cover page

     Well, this year has offered a few more lessons that I can use as further learning opportunities, especially in the area of social and emotional learning.  For instance, on Tuesday, March 10, 2015, Brent Sass, a contender for winning the race and the current champion of the Yukon Quest, was disqualified due to having a device that was capable of 2-way communication.  (http://iditarod.com/resources/press-media/)  He had a iPod Touch that he had used for listening to music and watching movies.  The Iditarod, after all, is a 1100+ mile race and having some sort of entertainment on those long stretches between checkpoints can be very helpful.

     Shortly after this Yukon Quest winner learned of the disqualification decision, he gave a video interview where he took full responsibility for his mistake.  He spoke of how he didn’t even think about using the 2-way communication capability when he decided to bring it along.  He had been able to have it on the Yukon Quest since they allow mushers to use Wi-Fi at checkpoints to update their blogs or websites. (http://www.yukonquest.com/news/clarification-regarding-yukon-quest-rules-two-way-communication-trail)  Brent also spoke of how he didn’t hadn’t and would “never use it as a 2-way device” in this race.  But knowing that the rules were solid, he accepted the consequences, no matter how difficult it was to swallow.   Brent offered an apology to his fellow mushers, his fans and family, and especially to his dogs for letting them down.  He called it a “stupid mistake”.  He could have blamed others, argued with the judges, and/or protested the disqualification when he knew he had no intentions of breaking the rules.  But he didn’t.

     This real life problem offered a teachable moment.  Though I felt really bad for Brent, my students can learn a social/emotional lesson about unfortunate consequences and how to respond to them.  They can learn about following and breaking rules.  We can have an open discussion about choices and whether we felt the consequences were appropriate.

     But that wasn’t the end of the lessons that this year’s race could provide.  The following day, a race favorite, Lance Mackey, shared a heart wrenching self-realization.

     Lance is a four time, back-to-back, Iditarod champion, with two of those wins coming off of winning the Yukon Quest.  He loves the sport and has been involved in mushing and the Iditarod since he was a child.  His father was one of the founding mushers and early winners of the race, and his older brother has also won the race. Last year, Lance did not participate in the Iditarod due to health issues.  In 2001, Lance was diagnosed with throat cancer and went through surgery and chemotherapy.  But that didn’t stop him.  He continued to race, manage his kennel, and take excellent care of his dogs.  But after years of health battles, Lance is struggling.

     In a video interview given at the Tanana checkpoint, Lance shows his swollen, numb, and stiffened hands.  The weather has been extremely cold with temperatures as low as -50 degrees Fahrenheit.  He tells the interviewer that he can’t feel his hands and that it feels like his fingernails are “being pushed off”.  He decides to stay in Nenana until he could take care of his dogs right, since, at that time, he is unable to put booties on the dog’s feet.  As he chokes up he goes on to say “My brother’s gonna run with me.”  Lance’s brother, Jason, is also running the race.  Lance goes on and says, “I’m messing up his race so he can boot up my dogs.”  Lance wants to get to Nome.

        But that’s not the end.  As Lance continues to talk about his hands he comes to the realization that this may be the end, and not just the end of Iditarod 2015, for him.  He tearfully states, “I can’t do this anymore.”

     The reality brings another teachable moment.  I’ll ask my students, “What does it mean to sacrifice?  Who is sacrificing more?  Is it worth it?  Why or why not?  Would you keep going or quit?” and more.  These are all questions worth asking.  This real life struggle can teach the students about perseverance, empathy, sacrifice, making tough decisions, and what it means to see the end of a dream.

     As I’ve used the Iditarod for engagement in academics, and inspiration toward perseverance and teamwork, this year’s race brings lessons that may last longer that a day or two.  As I write this, the race is at the half-way point for many mushers.  I plan to look for other inspiring lessons as the race continues this year and every year following.  I admire the mushers and I hope that my students will take away some deep, and important lessons from them and the race itself.  It is an amazing opportunity and I’m so glad to be able to bring it to my students.